Nodjomian Sworn in as SAME President

Sal Nodjomian SAME President

Col. Sal Nodjomian, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), was sworn in as the 98th National President of the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) on May 25 during the organization’s 2017 Joint Engineer Training Conference & Expo in Columbus, Ohio. As SAME President, Col. Nodjomian will lead a 47-member National Board of Direction and a global organization of 105 Posts and more than 28,000 members from throughout the military, public, private and academic sectors who are working to develop solutions for the country’s infrastructure-related national security challenges.

“I am extremely honored and humbled by the opportunity to serve as the National President for the Society of American Military Engineers,” says Col. Nodjomian. “With our Centennial Anniversary squarely in our sights in 2020, I look forward to building upon the incredible strides our Society has made the last several years. As SAME is a 100 percent volunteer organization, our members are our most treasured asset and deserve the very best support our leadership team can provide.”

In his professional career, Col. Nodjomian is Executive Vice President of Matrix Design Group and the Director of Government Consulting Services, where he is responsible for the development and execution of strategic plans and leads the vertical integration of broad reaching federal and military practices. He leads efforts across a spectrum of client services, including program management, military mission analysis, strategic and master planning, economic analysis, public-private partnerships, and public process facilitation.

Before transitioning to the private sector, Col. Nodjomian served over 23 years as a Civil Engineer officer, culminating as Commander of the 96th Air Base Wing, Eglin AFB, Fla. Among other assignments during his Air Force career, he served as Commander, 332nd Expeditionary Mission Support Group; Chief, Program Division, Office of The Civil Engineer, HQ U.S. Air Force; Commander, 92nd Civil Engineer Squadron, Fairchild AFB, Wash.; and Commander, Operations Flight, 3rd Civil Engineer Squadron, Elmendorf AFB, Alaska.

A SAME member since 1996, Col. Nodjomian served on the SAME national leadership team and its Board of Direction this past year as President-Elect. Other leadership positions within the Society he has held include National Vice President; National Elected Director; Regional Vice President; Co-Founder, Joint Base Balad Field Chapter; and President, Lewis and Clark Post.

Col. Nodjomian graduated from the University of Delaware in 1988 with a bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering. He holds master’s degrees from Northern Michigan University, The Ohio State University, The George Washington University, the Air Command & General Staff College, and the National War College. Presently a member of the SAME Emerald Coast, Panama City, and Pensacola Posts, Col. Nodjomian was invested in the SAME Academy of Fellows in 2008.



The SAME Board of Direction Col. Nodjomian will lead includes National Officers and Elected Directors voted in by the membership. The voting board also comprises Chairs of SAME’s 13 Mission Committees & Councils and Regional Vice Presidents of SAME’s 17 Regions. Additionally, there are several non-voting positions and appointed directors on the SAME Board of Direction. For more information on SAME’s governance, visit


National Officers

President: Col. Sal Nodjomian, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Matrix Design Group
President-Elect: Col. Marvin Fisher, LEED AP, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Farnsworth Group
Vice President: Lt. Col. Wendell “Buddy” Barnes, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), ARCADIS
Vice President: Cindy Lincicome, F.SAME, Betance Enterprises
Chair, Academy of Fellows: Col. Raymond Willcocks, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)
Immediate Past President: Capt. Mike Blount, P.E., LEED AP, F.SAME, USN (Ret.), AECOM

Treasurer: Rich Khalil, CPA, A. Morton Thomas & Associates, (Non-voting)
Counsel: Harold Rosen, F.SAME, The Law Office of Harold Rosen (Non-voting)
Chair, SAME Foundation Board: Col. John Mogge, Ph.D., RA, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), CH2M (Non-voting)
Executive Director: Brig. Gen. Joe Schroedel, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), SAME National Office (Non-voting)


Regional Vice Presidents

California: Anthony Petroccitto, GHD Inc.
Carolinas: Steve Thomas, P.E., CEMS Architecture & Engineering
Europe: Col. Anthony “Tony” Higdon, P.E., USAF, U.S. Air Forces in Europe/Air Forces Africa
Great Lakes: Col. Thomas Heinold, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), USACE Rock Island District
Lower Mississippi: Kenneth New, QRI/Quaternary Resource Investigations LLC
Middle Atlantic: Lt. Col. Michael Darrow, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), USACE Norfolk District
Missouri River: Jackie Hacker, HDR
New England: John Blaisdell, Sovereign Consulting Inc.
North Atlantic: Sharon Krock, PWS, F.SAME, Schnabel Engineering
Northwest: Capt. John Hickey, P.E., LEED AP, CEM, USCG (Ret.), Jacobs
Ohio Valley: Col. Shawn Moore, USAF, Air Force Installation & Mission Support Center
Pacific: Richard Stump, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Stanley Consultants
Rocky Mountain: Col. R. Scott Jarvis, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), RS&H
South Atlantic: Cindy Miller, P.E., LEED AP, CH2M
South Central: Col. Robert Keyser, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), AH Environmental Consultants
Southwest: Col. Richard Houghton, CFM, USAF (Ret.), City Light & Power
TEXOMA: Brig. Gen. Patrice Melancon, F.SAME, USAFR, San Antonio River Authority


Committee & Council Chairs

Architectural Practice: Col. Paula Loomis, FAIA, F.SAME, USAFR (Ret.), HQ U.S. Coast Guard
College Outreach: Corey Weaver, P.E., USACE Huntington District
Credentialing: Lt. Col. Neal Wright, P.E., F.SAME, F.ASCE, F.NSPE, USA (Ret.), Dewberry
Energy & Sustainability: Rear Adm. Mark Handley, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.), AECOM
Engineering & Construction Camps: Gerald Morris Jr., Pennoni
Environmental: Rick Cox, BMT Designers & Planners
Facilities Asset Management: Col. Stuart Harrison, P.E., CFM, F.SAME, USA (Ret.), AECOM
International: Col. Blair Schantz, PMP, USA (Ret.), AECOM
Joint Engineer Contingency Operations: Col. Bill Haight, P.E., USA (Ret.), Louis Berger Group
Resilience: Jim Hagan, F.SAME, BBS Federal
STEM: Lt. Col. Scott Prosuch, F.SAME, USA, (Ret.), Tetra Tech
Small Business: Patricia Bonilla, Lunacon Construction Group
Young Member: Lisa Thoele, RS&H

Awards and Recognition: Amy D’Alonzo-Basehoar, F.SAME, Koman Holdings Inc. (Non-voting)


Elected Directors:

2015 –2018

Lt. Col. Tony Price, F.SAME, USA (Ret.), James A. Price Enterprises LLC
Sally Riker, F.SAME, Lowe Engineers
Angela Nocera, P.E., Michael Baker International

2016 –2019

Cdr. Joseph Angell II, P.E., CCM, DGIA, USN (Ret.), Taylor Wiseman & Taylor
Lt. Col. Kevin Lovell, PMP, USA (Ret.), Stanley Consultants
Ben Matthews, P.E., F.SAME, Atkins
Col. John Cawthorne, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Neumarket Consulting LLC


Capt. Bob Bevins, P.E., F.SAME, USCG, Asset Management Project Office – Baltimore
John Accardi Jr., F.SAME, Weston Solutions
Anita Larson, PG, PMP, F.SAME, Tumeq LLC
Yvonne Simon, AIA, RA, STOA Architects

Maj. Gen. Merdith “Bo” Temple, P.E., PMP, F.SAME, USA (Ret.), (Appointed/Non-Voting)


Founded in 1920, SAME is the premier professional association uniting public and private sector individuals and organizations from across the architecture, engineering, construction, technology, environmental and facility management, and contracting fields in support of national security. The Society’s membership includes more than 28,000 members and 1,500 Sustaining Member companies, public agencies and academic institutions. For more information, visit Follow us on twitter @same_hq.