Mike Blount Sworn in as SAME President on Day 3 at JETC

Day three of the 2016 JETC in Phoenix kicked off with the annual Society Leadership & Post Awards Breakfast, recognizing the incredible work of SAME’s 105 Posts, 15 Committees & Councils, and 30,000 members around the world. SAME national officers, Jane Penny (President) and Sal Nodjomian and Kurt Ubbelohde (Vice Presidents) emceed the event, which started bright and early at 7:15 in the morning! 

Representatives from each of SAME’s 17 Regions paraded on stage to be recognized, and that was then followed by honoring the Top Posts for 2015: the Cape Fear Post (Top Small Post); Virginia Peninsula Post (Top Medium Post); and Houston-Galveston Post (Top Large Post). The TEXOMA Region also was recognized as the Top Region. 


Photos by Adrian Baird




After the breakfast, the day three schedule opened up with Exhibit Hall hours as well as concurrent education sessions on topics as diverse as bioremediation at a National Priorities List site, design-build delivery for military projects, building envelope commissioning, cyber security trends for critical infrastructure, and the conclusion of the Total Joint Force Table Top Exercise, which brought together some 50 participants from across the military services and the contracting arena for a multi-faceted training exercise that is designed to help better understand and communicate the capabilities of the joint engineer force and where there may be gaps that need to be addressed.

The education and training portion of the 2016 JETC wrapped up Thursday afternoon with a Uniformed Services Engineering Leaders Panel and the installation of the 97th SAME National President, Capt. Mike Blount, P.E., LEED AP, F.SAME, USN (Ret.).


Capt. Blount, an SAME member since 1984, served this past year as President-Elect. Among his many leadership positions, he has served as Chair of the Energy & Sustainability Committee, Co-Chair of the Federal Project Delivery Symposium, South Atlantic Regional Vice President, and Jacksonville Post President. Capt. Blount was invested in the Academy of Fellows in 2012. He served 26 years in the Navy Civil Engineer Corps, including command tours as Commodore of the 30th Naval Construction Regiment, and Commanding Officer of NAVFAC Southeast.

After retiring from the Navy in 2008, Capt. Blount joined Balfour Beatty Construction, and this spring, he joined AECOM as Vice President of Navy Programs. A graduate of the University of Florida, where he earned a bachelor’s in Environmental Engineering, Capt. Blount also holds an master’s in Environmental Engineering from Georgia Tech and a professional degree in Water Resources from The George Washington University.


The 2016 JETC will conclude with the annual Society Ball & Awards Gala Thursday evening. Congratulations to this year’s award recipients! For more information on the 2016 SAME JETC, visit www.same.org/jetc. Follow the event on twitter @same_hq and #SAMEJETC.

SAME National Awards & Medals

Walter O. Bachus Gold Medal
Robert Wolff, Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME

Goethals Medal
Cdr. Roland De Guzman, P.E., CEC, USN, NAVFAC Mid-Atlantic

Bliss Medal
Eric Williamson, Ph.D., P.E., University of Texas-Austin

Bliss Medal
Capt. Timothy Pach, USAF, U.S. Air Force Academy

Tudor Medal
Christian DeLaRosa, P.E., Joint Base San Antonio

Urbahn Medal
Capt. Robert Harris, FAIA, LEED AP, CFM, USN (Ret.), NAVFAC HQ

Sverdrup Medal
Capt. Katherine Schultz, USAF, U.S. Air Forces in Europe-Air Forces Africa

Paul R. Smith NCO Medal
Master Sgt. Adam Boubede, USAF, 51st Civil Engineer Squadron, Osan AB

Technology Advancement Medal
Cdr. Nicholas DeLaura, CFM, SMP, USCG (Ret.), Shore Infrastructure Logistics Center

Post Service Medal
Bonnie Hopke-Flinn, FPM Remediation Inc., San Antonio Post

Young Member Medal
Amy Shirlberg, PMP, LEED AP, Facility Programming & Consulting

Student Leadership Medal
Staff Sgt. Nickolas Patch, USMCR, Kansas State University

Student Leadership Medal
Cadet First Class Lucas Guthrie, U.S. Air Force Academy

Toulmin Medal
Maj. Erica Tortella, USAF, for the article “Mission Support to Mission Essential: An Analysis of Air Force Engineer Doctrine and Capabilities”

President’s Medal
Lt. Col. Wendell “Buddy” Barnes, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), Jacobs

President’s Medal
Cindy Lincicome, Betance Enterprises

President’s Medal
J.J. Tang, AIA, HDR Inc.

Sustainability Award – Towards Net Zero
Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center Twentynine Palms

Public Agency Award
Jacksonville District, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Robert B. Flowers Small Business Award

Seymour S. Greenfield Sustaining Member Award

J.W. Morris Sustaining Member Award


Uniformed Services Awards & Medals


Sturgis Medal (Active)
Sgt. 1st Class Corey Wilkens, USA, B Company, 307th Engineer Battalion, 3rd Brigade Combat Team, 82nd Airborne Division

Sturgis Medal (Reserve)
Sgt. Steven Bastean, USAR, 336th Engineer Company, 463rd Engineer Battalion, 411th Engineer Brigade

Sturgis Medal (Guard)
Staff Sgt. Matthew Schmitt, ARNG, 220th Engineer Company, 1140th Engineer Battalion, Missouri Army National Guard

Wheeler Medal
Denis duBreuil, P.E., USACE Baltimore District

Itschner Award (Active)
A Company, 169th Engineer Battalion, 1st Engineer Brigade

Itschner Award (Reserve)
338th Engineer Company (Horizontal), 368th Engineer Battalion, 302nd Maneuver Enhancement Brigade

Itschner Award (Guard)
200th Engineer Company (Multi-Role Bridge),
153rd Engineer Battalion, South Dakota Army National Guard



Newman Medal
Col. Michael Geer, USAF, 7th Air Force, Osan AB

Goddard Medal
Senior Master Sgt. Vincent Schuyler, USAF, 31st Civil Engineer Squadron, Aviano AB

Curtin Award (Large Unit)
52nd Civil Engineer Squadron, Spangdahlem AB

Curtin Award (Small Unit)
355th Civil Engineer Squadron, Davis-Monthan AFB

Curtin Award (Reserve)
934th Civil Engineer Squadron, Minneapolis-St. Paul ARS



Hollis Medal
Lt. Cdr. Roger Hargrove, P.E., USPHS, Indian Health Service

Green Medal
Lt. Juliane Junes-Harvey, P.E., USPHS, Indian Health Service

Cumming Award
National Park Service Public Health Policy Writing Subcommittees



Shields Medal
Construction Mechanic 1st Class James Eaton, USN, Naval Mobile Construction Battalion 4

Moreell Medal
Lt. Cdr. Michael Guzzi, P.E., CEC, USN, 30th Naval Construction Regiment

Peltier Award
Naval Mobile Construction Battalion 11



Oren Medal
Lt. Sarah Krolman, USCG, Civil Engineering Unit Cleveland

Sargent Medal
Chief Warrant Officer Brian Addicott, USCG, Civil Engineering Unit Oakland

Cowart Award (Civil Engineering)
Civil Engineering Unit Juneau

Cowart Award (Facilities Engineering)
Coast Guard Base Alameda

* Lists include all honorees; not all awards & medals are being presented at JETC.

SAME Awards previously presented

Gerald C. Brown Mentoring Award
Philios Angelides, P.E, F.SAME

Golden Eagle Award
Lt. Gen. Robert L. Van Antwerp, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)

Golden Eagle Award
Adm. Vernon E. Clark, USN (Ret.)


Engineer Officer of the Year
1st Lt. Joseph Garcia, USMC, Mobility Assault Company, 2nd Combat Engineer Battalion, 2nd Marine Division

Senior NCO of the Year
Gunnery Sgt. Matthew Cornett, USMC, Company B,
8th Engineer Support Battalion, 2nd Marine Logistics Group