Fisher Sworn in as 99th SAME President at JETC in Kansas City

Col. Marvin Fisher, LEED AP, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), was sworn in as 99th National President of SAME on May 25, at the 2018 Joint Engineer Training Conference in Kansas City, Mo.

As SAME President, Col. Fisher will lead a 51-member Board of Direction and an international organization of over 100 Posts in locations around the world and more than 28,000 members who work through the military, government, industry, academia and nonprofit sectors and come together to support the Society’s mission of “leading collaborative effort to identify and resolve national security infrastructure-related challenges.”

It is truly an exciting time to a part of our Society,” Col. Fisher says. “We have been gaining a lot of momentum over the last several years as we continue to enhance the SAME experience. We are witnessing a transformation of our organization with evolving programs, increased member participation, and expanded partnerships. Since our strategic shift in 2015 and our renewed focus on national security versus just national defense, we have been able to significantly increase the value we offer. Our Society has truly grown into a professional association providing support to our military, our industry partners, and the future STEM leaders of our nation.”

Col. Marv Fisher, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), sworn in as 99th SAME President at the 2018 JETC in Kansas City.


Currently, Col. Fisher is the Chief Strategy Officer of Farnsworth Group, which he joined in 2013. In this role, he is responsible for strategy formulation and implementation to support the growth of the company. This includes national strategic development planning, client management programs, and working with other principals and the business development team to expand the company’s services to local, regional and national clients. He also leads the company’s federal initiatives.

Col. Fisher served 25 years as a Civil Engineering officer in the U.S. Air Force, retiring in 2006. In his last assignment, he was Director of Installations at Air Force Space Command. senior assignments include Mission Support Group Commander, Peterson AFB, Colo., and Manas AB, Kyrgyzstan; and Director of Plans & Programs, Office of The Civil Engineer, Washington, D.C.

Within SAME, he has served in leadership positions at all levels—including National Vice President; National Elected Director; Chair, National Education & Training Committee; Chair, National Strategic Alliance Task Force; Dallas Post President, 2013; and Founder and President of the Dolomiti Post in Italy, 1997. He became an SAME member in 1995 and was invested in the Academy of Fellows in 2005.

Col. Fisher graduated from the U.S. Air Force Academy in 1981 with a bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering. He holds master’s degrees from the Air Force Institute of Technology and the National Defense University.

2018-2019 Board of Direction

National Officers

President: Col.Marvin Fisher, LEED AP, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Farnsworth Group
President-Elect: Lt. Col. Wendell “Buddy” Barnes, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), ARCADIS
Vice President: Cindy Lincicome, F.SAME, Betance Enterprises
Vice President: Heather Wishart-Smith, P.E., F.SAME, Jacobs
Past President: Col. Sal Nodjomian, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Matrix Design
Executive Director: Brig. Gen. Joseph Schroedel, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), (Non-voting)
Treasurer: Rich Khalil, CPA, A. Morton Thomas and Associates, (Non-voting)
Counsel: Harold Rosen, F.SAME, The Law Office of Harold Rosen (Non-voting)
President, SAME Foundation Board: Col. John Mogge, Ph.D., RA, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), CH2M (Non-voting)

Regional Vice Presidents

California: Anthony Petroccitto, GHD Inc.
Carolinas: Janette Tudor, P.E., F.SAME, KCI Technologies Inc.
Europe: Col. Anthony “Tony” Higdon, P.E., USAF, U.S. Air Forces in Europe/Air Forces Africa
Great Lakes: Tricia Muxlow, Muxlow Surveying
Lower Mississippi: Kenneth New, Quaternary Resource Investigations LLC
Middle Atlantic: Capt. Jay Manik, P.E., F.SAME. USCG (Ret.), CDM Smith
Missouri River: Jackie Hacker, F.SAME, HDR
New England: John Blaisdell, Sovereign Consulting Inc.
North Atlantic: Sharon Krock, PWS, F.SAME, Schnabel Engineering
Northwest: Dave Newkirk, BCE Engineers Inc.
Ohio Valley: Col. Shawn Mooore, F.SAME, USAF, Air Force Installations & Mission Support Center – Detachment 6
Pacific: Lt. Col. Eric Warner, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), 374th Civil Engineer Squadron, Yokota AB, Japan
Rocky Mountain: Col. R. Scott Jarvis, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), RS&H
South Atlantic: Cindy Miller, P.E., LEED AP, Jacobs
South Central: Col. Robert Keyser, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), AH Environmental Consultants
Southwest: Col. Richard Houghton, CFM, USAF (Ret.), City Light & Power
TEXOMA: Brig. Gen. Patrice Melancon, F.SAME, USAFR, San Antonio River Authority

Committee Chairs

Architectural Practice: David Packard, RA, F.SAME, USACE Northwestern Division
Awards and Recognition: Michell Chambliss, Faith Group LLC
College Outreach: Maj. Seth Lorimer, USAF, HQ U.S. Air Force
Credentialing: Chief Master Sgt. Tamara Olson, USAF (Ret.), S&B Christ Consulting LLC
Energy & Sustainability: Brig. Gen. Dave Howe, USAF (Ret.), Powersmiths International
Engineering & Construction Camps: Cdr. Joseph Angell II, P.E., CCM, F.SAME, USN (Ret.), Apogee Consulting Group, P.A.
Environmental: Rick Cox, BMT Designers & Planners
Facility Asset Management: Mark Tomassoni, KBRwyle
International: Col. Blair Schantz, USA (Ret.), Prime Associates LLC
Joint Engineer Contingency Operations: Col. Bill Haight, USA (Ret.), Louis Berger Group
Resilience: Col. Joe Manous Jr., Ph.D., D.WRE, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), USACE Institute for Water Resources
STEM: Lt. Col. Scott Prosuch, F.SAME, USA, (Ret.), Tetra Tech

Council Chairs

Small Business: Karen Buniak, TTI Environmental Inc. (acting)
Young Member: Lisa Thoele, RS&H

Elected & Appointed Directors

Ramon Herrera, P.E., Midtown Engineers
Lt. Col. Kevin Lovell, PMP, USA (Ret.)
Ben Matthews, P.E., F.SAME, Jacobs
Col. John Cawthorne, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Neumarket Consulting LLC

Capt. Bob Bevins, P.E., F.SAME, USCG, Asset Project Office
John Accardi Jr., F.SAME, Weston Solutions
Anita Larson, PG, PMP, F.SAME, Suulutaaq Inc.
Yvonne Simon, AIA, NCARB, STOA Architects
Maj. Gen. Merdith “Bo” Temple, P.E., PMP, F.SAME, USA (Ret.) (Appointed/Non-voting)

Candis Hamilton, Merrick & Co.
Col. Charles Perham, USAF (Ret.), Matrix Design Group
Marci Snyder, F.SAME, Dynatest

Additional Non-Voting Members

Richard “Rad” Delaney, AIA, LEED AP, F.SAME, PRIME AE Group, Inc. (Appointed/Fellows – Non-voting)
Capt. Mike Blount, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.), AECOM (Appointed/Industry-Government Work Group – Non-voting)
Lt. Col. Mike Darrow, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), USACE Norfolk District (Appointed/Leader Development Program – Non-voting)
Caroline Roberts, Jacobs (Appointed/Leader Development Program – Non-voting)